Young adult fantasy books can always been improved with some awesome magical creatures. Whether you love fae, dragons, elves, vampires, wolves, or other magical creatures, these young adult fantasy books are sure to have what you’re looking for. Get out a pen and paper because your to-be-read list is about to grow..

Court of Bitter Thorn by Kay L. Moody

Court of Bitter Thorn by Kay L. Moody, Book 1 of The Fae of Bitter Thorn.

Set in a lush, Faerie world, this stunning tale of royal intrigue, magic, and sisterly devotion is perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince.

I am not enchanting you with my eyes. I just happen to have amazing eyes.

If you love young adult fantasy books and haven’t read this one yet, now is the time to add it to your list! It has traditional fae folklore and several stunning magical creatures like fae, dryads, a wolf, gnomes, trolls, and more!

Buy Court of Bitter Thorn

We Free the Stars by Hafsah Faizal

We Hunt the Flame by Hafsah Faizal, great for anyone who loves young adult fantasy books!

People lived because she killed. People died because he lived.

We hunt the flame, the light in the darkness, the good this world deserves.

This book deserves to be on every list featuring teen fantasy books. It has a stunning enemies to lovers romance and a rich world you won’t soon forget.

Gilded by Marissa Meyer

Gilded by Marissa Meyer has a host of fantastical magical creatures perfect for this gothic retelling of Rumpelstiltskin.

In Gilded, Marissa Meyer returns to the fairytale world with this haunting retelling of Rumpelstiltskin.

When she talked, she could hardly keep herself from telling the most outlandish tales, as though her tongue could not tell the difference between truth and falsehoods.

Fairy tale retellings are always popular when it comes to young adult fantasy books. This one is a dark, gothic tale with an Alder King that will put a shiver in your spine. It also has ghosts, magic, and a love story to make you swoon.

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas, a great read for people who love young adult fantasy books.

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Libraries were full of ideas—perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.

The magical creatures in this epic fantasy series are varied and as wondrous as ever. This series is sure to delight.

A Song of Wraiths and Ruin by Roseanne A. Brown

Magical creatures are abundant in A Song of Wraiths and Ruin by Roseanne A. Brown.

The first in a gripping fantasy duology inspired by West African folklore in which a grieving crown princess and a desperate refugee find themselves on a collision course to murder each other despite their growing attraction.

Do not underestimate the strength it takes to be kind in a world as cruel as ours.

Anyone who loves young adult fantasy books needs to check out this fantastic series. Just the cover alone is enough to catch anyone’s attention.

Fire by Kristin Cashore

If you like young adult fantasy books, be sure to check out Fire by Kristin Cashore.

A breathtaking, marvelous Graceling Realm book from Kristin Cashore.

She wondered if a person could be powerful, but inside be broken into pieces, and shaking, all the time.

Like many other teen fantasy books, Fire will capture your heart and keep it long after you finish reading. This tale features a young woman with incredible powers, yet all she wishes is to live her life the way she chooses.

A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer

A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer is a Beauty and the Beast retelling great for anyone who loves teen fantasy books.

In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.

I am always surprised to discover that when the world seems darkest, there exists the greatest opportunity for light.

Though this book has several magical creatures, the one that will grip you the most is the terrifying beast in this magical fairy tale retelling.

Soul of the Sword by Julie Kagawa

Soul of the Sword by Julie Kagawa has magical creatures and an epic fantasy plot.

In this fantastical second series installment by Julie Kagawa, a wish was made and a sword of rage and lightning was forged, one thousand years ago. Kamigoroshi. The Godslayer. A weapon powerful enough to seal away the formidable demon Hakaimono.

All souls have a destiny. Some are simply brighter than others.

If you love books with impossible odds, this series is for you! It has a heart wrenching romance as well as rich mythology, making it a great addition to this list of young adult fantasy books.

Hunted by Meagan Spooner

If you love young adult fantasy books, be sure to check out Hunted by Meagan Spooner.

Meagan Spooner spins a thoroughly thrilling Beauty and the Beast story for the modern age, expertly woven with spellbinding romance, intrigue, and suspense that readers won’t soon be able to forget.

She wept because she did not know what she wanted, and because she wanted everything.

This story has such aching longing that it will leave readers rushing to find out how the story ends. No list of fantasy novels for teens would be complete without this beautiful retelling.

Wings of Shadow by Nicki Pau Preto

Looking for fantasy novels for teens? Don't miss Wings of Shadow by Nicki Pau Preto.

In the heart-stopping finale to the Crown of Feathers trilogy, Veronyka must face her most devastating enemy yet: her own sister.

Veronyka stumbled through the darkness, her hands outstretched.

Teen fantasy novels offer a wide array of relatable characters, fantastical plots, and mythical creatures. For a series with all three, you’ll love this epic tale of phoenix riders.

Forest of Souls by Lori M. Lee

No list of teen fantasy novels would be complete without Forest of Souls by Lori M. Lee.

Danger lurks within the roots of Forest of Souls, an epic, unrelenting tale of destiny and sisterhood, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Susan Dennard.

For everyone who’s ever wondered if they were enough.

One look at this gorgeous cover will tell you it’s perfect for readers of young adult fantasy books. This dark fantasy story is one you won’t want to miss!

Flame & Crystal Thorns by Kay L. Moody

One of the best young adult fantasy books there is, readers are sure to love Flame and Crystal Thorns by Kay L. Moody.

She vowed she’d never return to Faerie…but vows were made to be broken.

I’m glad you understand my priorities. Food should always come first, except maybe when it’s up against books.

This young adult fantasy book series is one full of heart, longing, and fighting an evil that has dropped even the most powerful to their knees. It’s a must-read for anyone who loves feisty female leads!

Buy Flame and Crystal Thorns

Other Lists You Might Like

  • Young Adult Fantasy Book Series with a Found Family
  • Teen Fantasy Novels with the Best Villains
  • Character Driven Fantasy Novels for Teens
  • Teen Fantasy Books with Enemies to Lovers Romance

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

9 + 17 =